New Jersey’s new Paid Sick Leave Act was passed earlier this month (May, 2018). This law will affect just about every private employer and employee in New Jersey.  To learn more about this new law, click here, here, here and here!

What if I work or run a business in a NJ municipality that has its own paid sick leave ordinance - which law applies?

As I previously reported, there are 13 New Jersey municipalities with paid sick time ordinances: Bloomfield, East Orange, Elizabeth, Newark, Jersey City, Paterson, Passaic, Trenton, Montclair, Irvington, New Brunswick, Plainfield, and Morristown.  These ordinances are preempted by the Act and will no longer be enforceable when the Act becomes effective on October 29, 2018.

Back to Articles and Updates


*Posting and viewing of the information on this website is not intended to constitute legal advice or create an attorney-client relationship. Read More of the  Disclaimer.